Dear Book Nerd

Categories

general
literature

Archives

2016
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January

2015
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January

2014
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January

September 2016
S M T W T F S
     
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30

Syndication

My special guest host this week is the glorious Rebecca Romney. We discuss the topics of selling antiquarian books and when to give up on a book.

This episode was sponsored by Penguin Random House Audio and Afterward by Jennifer Mathieu.

Direct download: DBN71_Rebecca_Romney.mp3
Category:literature -- posted at: 1:09pm EDT

My special guest host this week is the wonderful Amanda Nelson. Amanda and I discuss four listener-submitted questions relating to topics such as reading taste, avoiding distractions when trying to read, what it really means to be a book snob, and decorating tips if you own many books.

Amanda is the Managing Editor of Book Riot, host of the Get Booked podcast, and writes a TinyLetter on parenting called Madame Ovary. You can find her on Twitter @ImAmandaNelson.

 

This episode is sponsored by The Reader by Traci Chee and The Call by Peadar O’Guilin.

Direct download: DBN70_Amanda_Nelson.mp3
Category:literature -- posted at: 5:19pm EDT

My guest this week is the wonderful and amazing Cristin Stickles. We talk about topics such as how to approach working in a bookstore, bookish events in NYC, and much more.

This episode was sponsored by The Call by Peadar O'Guilin and Furious Rush by SC Stephens.

Direct download: DBN69_Cristin_Stickles.mp3
Category:literature -- posted at: 2:40pm EDT

My special guest co-host this week is the great and knowledgeable Guy LeCharles Gonzalez. We talked over three listener-submitted questions and dealt with topics such as book blogging, how to prepare for your first public reading, and much more.

This episode is sponsored by The Edge of the Light by Elizabeth George.

Direct download: DBN68_Guy_LeCharles_Gonzalez.mp3
Category:literature -- posted at: 11:50am EDT

My guest co-host this week is the talented and thoughtful Jeff Zentner. We discuss reading guilt, read-a-likes for "Veronica Mars," and much more. Jeff is the author of The Serpent King and the forthcoming Goodbye Days. You can find him on Twitter @jeffzentner

Direct download: DBN67_Jeff_Zentner.mp3
Category:literature -- posted at: 12:38pm EDT

My special guest co-host this week is the wonderful Rachel Smalter Hall. Rachel and I tackle two listener-submitted questions and discuss the following topics (among others): how to deal with reading-induced headaches, how to train yourself to love audiobooks, and how to read for pleasure, not just comprehension.

This episode was sponsored by The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen and Book Riot Live.

Direct download: DBN66_Rachel_Smalter_Hall.mp3
Category:literature -- posted at: 12:05pm EDT

My special guest co-host this week is the sparkling Trisha Leigh. We discuss three listener-submitted questions and talk about topics such as what classics are "must read," how to say no to forming a book club, special book club picks, and much more. 

This episode was sponsored by Book of the Month and Dream Jumper.

Direct download: DBN65_Trisha_Leigh.mp3
Category:literature -- posted at: 11:42am EDT

My guest co-host this week is the great Andrew Shaffer. We discuss topics such as how a shoplifting charge might impact your writing career, what library school actually entails and whether or not you should attend, and much more.

This episode was sponsored by This Calls for a Drink by Diane McMartin and Book Riot Live.

Direct download: DBN64_Andrew_Shaffer.mp3
Category:literature -- posted at: 12:42pm EDT

Welcome to the Dear Book Nerd podcast, a bi-weekly show that answers YOUR questions about life, love, and literature! My special guest co-host this week is the wonderful Minh Le. We discuss three listener-submitted questions and touch on topics such as how to get a children's book published, how many books is too many to own, and books that will challenge but not upset sensitive young readers. Don't miss it!

Minh is the author of the fabulous picture book Let Me Finish! which comes out June 7th from Disney Hyperion. You can find him on Twitter @bottomshelfbks. Thanks, Minh!

This episode was sponsored by Penguin Random House Audio and Book Riot Live.

Direct download: DBN63_Mihn_Li.mp3
Category:literature -- posted at: 1:25pm EDT

My special guest co-host this week is Clay McLeod Chapman. We respond to three listener-submitted questions and discuss topics such as how to deal with e-galleys you are not enjoying, what to do when you relate to a character (and dislike yourself for it), and how to relate to your friends and loved ones if they don't enjoy reading.

Direct download: DBN62_Clay_Mcleod_Chapman.mp3
Category:literature -- posted at: 4:54pm EDT

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next » 8